The Virginia Standard Residential Lease Agreement is a fundamental legally binding lease between the tenant and the landlord that defines the terms of the contract for the tenant. Tenants should be sure to review all sections of the document before signing an agreement. If for any reason the tenant is unsure of the language of the agreement, he may consider contacting a competent lawyer for clarification and/or legal advice. Residential Property Management and Exclusive Lease – Owners/owners who wish to use the services of a property manager must comply with this agreement for the purpose of establishing an appropriate business relationship. Any cheque returned to the landlord by a bank due to insufficient funds may incur additional charges for the tenant. These fees must be disclosed in the language of the rental agreement and can no longer be $50 plus the fees incurred by the landlord on the deposit (§ 8.01-27.1). The Virginia Commercial Lease Agreement is a lease specifically used for the rental of retail stores, office space, industrial buildings, or other commercial space. This contract defines the rights and obligations of the business entity and the owner or owner of the commercial property. Virginia Commercial Landlord-Tenant Law Here are some interesting ones. If a plan is awaiting conversion, demolition or substantial modification of the rental property so that the tenants must move, the tenants concerned must be informed.

Mold (§ 55.1-1215) – If mold is found during the move-in trial, the tenant has the right to terminate the contract or ask the landlord to remove the fabric. Association of Realtors Version (Form 200) – Virginia real estate agents have created a residential lease that can be used by landlords and tenants who wish to participate in renting a property. (The Hampton Roads Realtors Association also offers a residential lease that may be more appropriate for certain areas of Virginia.) Previous on-site production of methamphetamine – Any rental space used to produce methamphetamine must be cleaned in accordance with the specifications of the CoV Board of Health Cleanup requirements (§ 32.1-11.7). If it is not disclosed, unknown to the owner or not sufficiently cleaned to comply with state regulations, the tenant has 60 days to terminate the lease without further effect or to continue the contract (§ 55-248.12: 3). Energy Undercoverage (§ 55.1-1212) – If all utilities are on one (1) meter or if there is no clear way to distinguish the tenant`s ancillary costs from the landlord`s or other, the fees associated with ancillary costs must be included in the agreement. Lead-containing paint (42 U.S. Code § 4852d) – Federal law requires that any residence built before 1978 include a disclosure indicating potential exposure to lead-containing paint. The form must be attached to the lease and a U.S.

EPA brochure must be distributed to the undersigned to raise awareness of the seriousness of the potential risks involved. Lease Guarantee (Form 230) – This form allows a non-tenant to essentially co-sign the lease and ensure that it covers the cost of rent if the primary tenant does not make a payment. Fees levied on an overdue rent payment are only mandatory if they are included in the signed lease. The amount calculated per incident, grace period and payment protocol must be processed and clarified as part of the lease agreement. Landlord identification or authorized person – The rental agreement must explicitly include the name and address of all owners of the property. This disclosure also extends to all authorized agents of the property management company who assist the landlord in the performance of the contract (§ 55-248.12) Virginia has no regulations on when a rent payment is considered late or a fixed grace period. The rent is due on the date specified in the rental agreement and the landlord does not have to grant the tenant a grace period for late payments as long as he includes such a provision in the rental document. If there is no written agreement, the rent is due on the first day of the month with a grace period of five (5) days (§ 55.1-1204(A), (C)(4) and (D)). The Virginia sublet is used by a tenant who wishes to rent all or part of his currently rented space. A tenant (subtenant) who is bound by their lease with their landlord must obtain permission before submitting a sublease to a potential subtenant. If the landlord agrees to the sublet, the tenant can negotiate the terms with the subtenant.

The original tenant assumes full responsibility for the subtenant and any violation of the sublease. Rental application – form that is given to a tenant who has expressed interest in the owner`s property. The potential tenant enters his information and pays a fee (if any) and after approval by the landlord, a lease is established. Once the climax of the lease is over, the landlord has 45 days from the end of the lease to repay the deposit to the tenant. In cases involving property defects, unpaid rent or late fees, the landlord must provide a list of all property issues and the rest, less repair costs or unpaid rent, must be refunded to the tenant within forty-five (45) days (§ 55-248.15:1). A standard Virginia residential lease is used by property owners and managers to enter into legally binding lease agreements with their tenants. Under the terms of the lease, the tenant will be granted occupancy for a standard period of twelve (12) months, for which he will have to pay monthly rent. The document must include the address of the property, the rental price, the rental period and the amount of the deposit for the rental agreement. Landlords often need a background and credit check before entering into an agreement to determine the tenant`s suitability.

.